Faculty Teaching Awards

The Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Senior Vice President for Advancement and External Affairs are pleased to announce the continuation of six faculty awards for 2015-16.
The Awards, each of which includes a cash stipend, will be granted in recognition of a variety of areas including student and faculty research, integrated-service learning, service to the college, and innovation and excellence in teaching.  These awards are consistent with Iona College’s five-year strategic plan to support the great work of its faculty.  The award sponsors are Jim and Anne Marie Hynes, Mary and Michael Marsden, and Joseph and Kelli Nyre.
All faculty, administrators, and staff are welcome to participate in the nomination process.  The deadline for nominations is March 2, 2015.  The award recipients will be announced by early April and recognized at the May Honors Convocation.  Below is a listing of the awards and the nomination process.

Iona College Faculty Awards
(for full-time, clinical, tenure-track and tenured faculty members)

Br. Arthur A. Loftus Outstanding Student Research Award

This award is for a faculty member who is actively engaged in research and/or scholarly activity with undergraduate or graduate students.  A $2,000 stipend is part of the recognition.*

The Irene Hammerbacher Outstanding Faculty Research Award

This award is for a faculty member whose achievements in research, scholarship, or creative expression have received a significant, critical reception and are recognized nationally or internationally.  A $2,000 stipend is part of the recognition.*

Br. Richard B. Power Award for Integrating Service Learning into the Classroom

This award is for a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching that includes the integration of innovative approaches to service learning, or notable collaboration with faculty outside their department for incorporating service learning beyond the classroom.  A $2,000 stipend is part of the recognition.*

Br. William H. Barnes Memorial Award for Service to the College

This award is for a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional contributions to the college community as shown through leadership in areas ranging from faculty governance or administrative work, mentoring of student activities, sponsorship of college events, to initiation of new service projects for students, faculty, and other members of the college community.  A $2,000 stipend is part of the recognition.*

The Catherine McCabe Award for Innovation & Excellence in Teaching

This award is for a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional teaching, concern for students and colleagues, sensitivity to the mission of the College, and a commitment to high standards of professional and personal life.  A $2,000 stipend is part of the recognition.*

Br. William Cornelia Distinguished Faculty Award

This award is for a faculty member who has achieved distinction as a teacher-scholar as documented through student- and peer-teaching evaluations; publications, invited lectures and papers, performances or shows; leadership in professional societies; work on editorial boards; membership in prestigious professional organizations; references, quotes or appearances in media; or other kinds of selective positions of leadership.  A $2,000 stipend is part of the recognition.*

*The monetary awards are considered taxable compensation to the recipient in accordance with the IRS code.

Nomination Process:

  1. Faculty, staff, and administrators may nominate faculty for these awards.
  2. Nominations must be submitted by 5 pm, March 2, 2015 to Dr. Hugh Short, Chair of the Faculty Senate, c/o Michelle Littleton in the Office of the Provost.
  3. Nominators must provide 2 copies of nomination materials, including a brief narrative of the faculty member’s accomplishments that merit the specific award, and a Curriculum Vita, which may be obtained from the nominee or her/his department. Academic Departments will provide teaching evaluations for the two teaching awards.
  4. One letter of support from an additional peer at Iona College.
  5. Review of applicants will be completed by early April.
  6. Awards will be announced by mid-April.
  7. Awards will be conferred at the Honors Convocation on May 3rd.

  1. Faculty can be nominated for only one award.
  2. All documents must be completed and received by the deadline to be eligible.
  3. A member of the selection committee cannot be nominated for an award.

Selection Committee:

  1. Chair of Faculty Senate
  2. Dean, Arts & Science
  3. Dean, Hagan School of Business
  4. Faculty member from Arts & Science
  5. Faculty member from Hagan School of Business

For questions or more information please contact:  

Michelle Littleton
Office of the Provost
(914) 633-2602