IONA

tbarnes

Adjunct Faculty

Salvatrice Amico-Stubbs, PhD

Adjunct Instructor of Italian
PhD in Lettere e Filosofia, Università di Catania, 1978

Phone: (914) 637-2735
Email: samicostubbs@iona.edu

Dr. Amico-Stubbs was born and raised in Italy, where she attended public school and later attended the University of Catania, where she received the degree of Dottore in Filosofia.  Dr. Amico-Stubbs traveled throughout Italy a number of European and Mediterranean countries.

Dr. Amico-Stubbs moved to the United States in 1988; where she continued to study and teach for over 18 years.  In recent years she created a set of video activities for World languages Thomson Heinle for their "Con fantasia" intermediate Italian.  Dr. Amico-Stubbs is very dedicated to the craft of teaching, and she enjoys good learning relationships with her students.

Miles Beckwith, PhD

Associate Professor of Linguistics and Latin
PhD, Linguistics, Yale University, 1996
BA, Linguistics, St. John's University, 1983

Phone: (914) 633-2425
Email: mbeckwith@iona.edu
   

Runhong Chen, PhD

Adjunct Instructor of Chinese
PhD, Engineering Physics, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1996
MS, Physics, Adelphi University, 1989
BS, Physics, Nanjing University, 1981

Email: rchen@iona.edu
   

Isabella Giordano

Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
MA, Spanish, Columbia University Teacher's College, 1970
AB, College of New Rochelle, 1962

Phone: (914) 633-2425
Email: igiordano@iona.edu

Jackie H. Imai

Adjunct Instructor of Japanese
MA, Asian Studies (Japanese), St. John's University, 1994
BS, Business Administration, Mercy College, 1991

Phone: (914) 633-2425
Email: jimai@iona.edu

Kevin Kelton

Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
PhD, Spanish Literature, Rutgers University, 2007
MA, Spanish, Iona College, 1995
BA, Spanish and History, Rutgers University, 1985

Phone: (914) 633-2425
Email: kkelton@iona.edu

Frank Maddalena

Adjunct Instructor of Italian
MA, Italian Literature, Queens College, CUNY 2003
BA, Italian, Iona College, 1973

Phone: (914) 633-2425
Email: fmaddalena@iona.edu

Anthony Manganiello

Adjunct Instructor of French
MA, French Literature, Middlebury College, 1974
BA, French Literature, Iona College, 1970

Phone: (914) 633-2425
Email: amanganiello@iona.edu

Anthony Sallustio

Adjunct Instructor of French
PhD, Romance Languages and Literatures, Fordham University, 1973
MA, French Literature, St. John's University, 1960
BA, French Literature, Iona College, 1958

Phone: (914) 633-2425
Email: asallustio@iona.edu

Experience: taught undergrad courses in French at all levels at Iona & Pace since the 1960s & served as department chair at Pace for about 20 years, recipient of Kenan Teaching Excellence award from Pace in 1987
Research: conference papers on 16th & 17th century literature & second language acquisition for AATF, MLA, Christianity & Literature, 16th century Studies Conference, University of Cincinnati, University of Kentucky & others, NEH summer scholar in French for seminars at Columbia [1984], Princeton [1986], Duke [1994], worked with WACRA, an organization focused on case-method, presenting papers,  reviewing proposals & serving on advisory board since 1998, numerous presentations at WACRA conferences, most of which have been published
Current work & interests: using technology, including implementation of video & sound, to enhance the learning of French language & culture at all levels.

Rosa Solano

Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
MST, Spanish, Iona College, 1999

Phone: (914) 633-2425
Email: rsolano@iona.edu

Josefina Zuluaga

Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
MSEd, Spanish, Queens College, 2003
BA, Economics, Interamerican University 1990

Phone: (914) 633-2425
Email: jzuluaga@iona.edu