IONA

Blackboard Course Retention Policy

Policy Name Blackboard Course Retention Policy
Policy
Approved: December 2008

Course sites contained in Iona College's Blackboard learning management system will be retained for 2 years and then deleted. Deletion means permanently removing the course site and its contents from the Blackboard system. Instructors will have an option to retain older courses through the Blackboard archive feature. This policy is effective for all course sites contained in Blackboard. Instructors will be notified by email at lease twice prior to deletion.




Understanding the Blackboard Course Retention Policy

The rationale for the Blackboard Course Retention Policy is that the Iona Blackboard database has become large and filled with files using outdated Blackboard protocols. These files cause numerous problems and system malfunctions.

Course container creation and course deletion are administrative functions, not tasks that instructors can complete in Blackboard. Instructors can copy course materials from one existing course container to another. Course containers are created each term based on PeopleSoft, the database of record.

Example:
The methodology for the deletion of courses is based on the extension of the course in the Blackboard Course ID. For example, in the course ID CS140A.FS16, the FS16 represents Fall Semester 2016, WT16 would represent Winter Trimester 2016. Course deletions for a particular semester, trimester, or session will be based on the corresponding extension only.

For this Fall term, Fall 2016, all courses created prior to Fall 2014 will be deleted on October 31, 2016. Instructors will be notified on October 3rd and then again, two weeks later, on October 17th.

This pattern will continue in subsequent terms.

Assistance:
Instructions for archiving are posted on the CELTIC website here. CELTIC will provide workshops on archiving and individual assistance as requested.

Use of Archive Files:
Blackboard archive files are .zip format, meaning all content is compressed into a single zipped file for storage and later restoration, if necessary, into the Blackboard system. It is essential to note that if you unzip this file, it will be rendered unusable by Blackboard.

The procedure for archiving or saving a course’s complete content is:

  1. Instructor archives course to .zip format.
  2. Instructor saves .zip file on his/her storage solution.
  3. BB Administrator deletes course.
  4. If the instructor wants the course resored when the course is offered again in the future, at the time of restoration, the instructor provides archive.zip file to the Blackboard administrator to restore.