Skip navigation

IONA College Logo | Go to Home Page

Faculty, Graduating Seniors Recognized at Honors Convocation

The Iona College community gathered for the 2017 Honors Convocation May 7 in the Hynes Center.  Graduating seniors were honored for their membership in their departmental honors societies, as well as college-wide societies. Each academic department handed out awards to its top students.

Rebecca Leaman ’17 delivered the valedictory address.

Faculty members with awards
Six members of the faculty were awarded for their research and service.

Dr. Ivy Linton Stabell, assistant professor of English, received the Br. Arthur Loftus Outstanding Student Research Award, which is presented to the faculty member who has actively engaged in research and/or scholarly activity with undergraduate or graduate students.

The Irene Hammerbacher Outstanding Faculty Research Award was presented to Dr. Scott Cleary, associate professor of English. This award is presented to the faculty member whose achievements in research, scholarship, or creative expression have had significant critical reception and are recognized nationally or internationally.

Dr. Natalie Redcross, assistant professor of Mass Communication, won the Br. Richard B. Power Award for Integrating Service Learning into the Classroom. This award is for a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching that includes the integration of innovative approaches to service learning, or notable collaboration with faculty outside their department for incorporating service learning beyond the classroom.

Dr. Elena Procario-Foley, associate professor of Religious Studies, took home the Br. William H. Barnes Memorial Award for Service to the College. This award is for a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional contributions to the college community as shown through leadership in areas ranging from faculty governance or administrative work, mentoring of student activities, sponsorship of college events, to initiation of new service projects for students, faculty, and other members of the college community. Dr. Procario-Foley was also presented with the Faculty Speaker of the Year Award at Convocation.

Dr. Robert Jantzen, chair of the Economics Department, received the Catherine McCabe Award for Innovation & Excellence in Teaching. This award is presented to the faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional teaching skills, recognized concern for students and colleagues and sensitivity to the mission of the College, and a commitment to high standards of professional and personal life.

pipers marching into Hynes
Dr. Jeannie Zaino, professor of Political Science, won the Br. William Cornelia Distinguished Faculty Award. This award is for a faculty member who has achieved distinction as a teacher-scholar as documented through student- and peer-teaching evaluations; publications, invited lectures and papers, performances or shows; leadership in professional societies, work on editorial boards, membership in prestigious professional organizations; references, quotes or appearances in media; or other kinds of selective positions of leadership.