My Iona

Commuter Assistants

Iona has a really important resource for first-year commuters known as Commuter Assistants (CAs). As a freshman commuter, you are paired with a returning commuter student who can help you transition into college by addressing your needs or concerns about college life, answering questions, and supporting you throughout their first-year!

Commuter Assistants help connect you to Iona’s resources and respond to questions and concerns. They host programs and events at convenient times to help commuters get involved. They have “community hours” when they are available to meet. CAs attend campus events and really want to help commuters feel connected and find their place at Iona!

Commuter Assistants 2020-2021

Maria Foley

Maria Foley

Maria is a sophomore majoring in Accounting and Finance. She commutes from Yonkers. Maria is the commuter assistant liaison to the Office of Residential Life.


Contact: mfoley4@gaels.iona.edu


Azka Ghaffar

Azka Ghaffar

Azka is a senior majoring in Computer Science. She commutes from New Rochelle. Azka is the commuter assistant liaison to the Office of Mission and Ministry.


Contact: aghaffar1@gaels.iona.edu


Christina Marasevic

Christina Marasevic

Christina is a junior majoring in Psychology and Speech. She commutes from Yorktown Heights. Christina is the commuter assistant liaison to the Counseling Center and Health Services.


Contact: cmarasevic1@gaels.iona.edu


Keidy Matos

Keidy Matos

Keidy is a senior majoring in Biochemistry and Mathematics. She commutes from the Bronx. Keidy is the commuter assistant liaison to the Office of Student Development and the student governing boards.


Contact: kmatos4@gaels.iona.edu


Kathy Nguyen

Kathy Nguyen

Kathy is a senior majoring in Computer Science. She commutes from the Bronx. Kathy is the commuter assistant liaison to the Commuter Student Association.


Contact: knguyen1@gaels.iona.edu


Konstantina Sgolombis

Konstantina Sgolombis

Konstantina is a sophomore majoring in Biochemistry. She commutes from the Bronx. Konstantina is the commuter assistant liaison to the Gerri Ripp Center for Career Development.


Contact: ksgolombis1@gaels.iona.edu


Shannon Shaikhar

Shannon Shaikhar

Shannon is a junior majoring in Economics and minoring in Chemistry. She commutes from Scarsdale. Shannon is the commuter assistant liaison to the Center for Student Success and the Rudin Academic Tutoring Center.


Contact: sshaikhar1@gaels.iona.edu