IONA College Logo | Go to Home Page

students talking

Meet your Orientation Leaders & the Orientation Staff

Felicia Diaz Colangelo, MS

Associate Director, Student Success
fcolangelo@iona.edu
(914) 633-2369
 

Caroline McGowan, MA

Orientation Coordinator
cmcgowan@iona.edu
(914) 633-2583
 

Colleen Duffy (Orientation Team Leader)

Email Address: cduffy1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Mahopac, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Accounting
Favorite Part of Iona: The sense of community
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The library

Jillian Venditti (Orientation Team Leader)

Email Address: jvenditti1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bronx, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Mass Communication with a concentration in Broadcast Media; Sociology Minor
Favorite Part of Iona: The small size of the campus and the student body made the transition from high school to college much easier for me. The small community makes Iona feel like home and like a family.
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: WICR - Iona College Radio
 

Kevin Ward (Orientation Team Leader)

Email Address: kward3@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Staten Island, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Mass Communication with a concentration in Public Relations
Favorite Part of Iona: The people
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Spellman steps
 

Tamara Abi-Mourshed

Email Address: tabimourshed1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: North Bergen, N.J.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Dual Childhood Education with a concentration in English
Favorite Part of Iona: Passion of the College governing boards to spread diversity
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Starbucks

James Benedith

Email Address: jbenedith1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bronx, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Accounting
Favorite Part of Iona: Class ratio
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: LaPenta

Christine Cassidy

Email Address: ccassidy4@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: East Northport, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Marketing
Favorite Part of Iona: The small community feel (and the pipe band of course)
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Spellman steps

Paola Cedeno

Email Address: pcedeno1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bronx, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Criminal Justice
Favorite Part of Iona: The people
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: My best friend's dorm

Amanda Cifelli

Email Address: acifelli1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Clifton, N.J.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Mass Communication with a concentration in Broadcast Media
Favorite Part of Iona: Community, leadership and the Gaels Activities Board
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: LaPenta

Gabriella Colon

Email Address: gcolon1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Smithtown, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Education with a concentration in Math
Favorite Part of Iona: The ability to go on mission trips
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Montgomery House

Alyssa Colon

Email Address: colona716@gmail.com
Hometown: Staten Island, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: English
Favorite Part of Iona: My favorite aspect of Iona is the community created by the students and faculty. Everyone is so friendly and ready to welcome new friends. Since Iona has a small campus, you'll always see someone familiar when walking to class or see someone at the dining hall to eat dinner with. The community really helps a student immerse oneself in the Iona spirit.
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: My favorite spot to hang out is the hill in front of East Hall. It's such a calming place where you can hang out with friends or can just sit by yourself and relax.

Rebecca Falcon

Email Address: rfalcon1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Mount Vernon, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Speech and Language Pathology; Psychology Minor
Favorite Part of Iona: The various organizations on campus that allow myself and everyone on campus to become a part of something they enjoy, get involved, and meet new people.
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The hill in front of East Hall

Marina Falisi

Email Address: mfalisi1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: White Plains, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: International Business/Italian
Favorite Part of Iona: The friendly people!
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Ryan Library

Jason Fermin

Email Address: jfermin1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bronx, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Psychology
Favorite Part of Iona: The diverse yet small community, I feel like it is easier for me to make friends and connections and still be opened to the fact that the world we live in is incredibly diverse. It allows me to take into account more views when I am thinking and interacting with people, making me more thoughtful.
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The vending lounge in basement of LaPenta

Giselle Fonseca

Email Address: gfonseca1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Mamaroneck, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Criminal Justice and Psychology
Favorite Part of Iona: The service and mission trip opportunities offered on campus and how kind everyone is!
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Starbucks and the hill in front of East Hall

Nina Franco

Email Address: nfranco2@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bronx, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Early Childhood Education
Favorite Part of Iona: How easy it is to make friends and get involved on campus
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: LaPenta or the hill in front of East Hall on sunny days

Joshua Garcia

Email Address: jgarcia11@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bronx, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Criminal Justice
Favorite Part of Iona: Greek Life
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: LaPenta

Philecia Gilmore

Email Address: patkins1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Memphis, Tenn.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Double Major in Mass Communication with a concentration in Broadcast Media and Criminal Justice
Favorite Part of Iona:
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The gym

Maria Halton

Email Address: mhalton1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Freeport, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Speech Language Pathology
Favorite Part of Iona: The community we have here
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: LaPenta

Alizette Hidalgo

Email Address: ahidalgo2@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Monroe, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Accounting
Favorite Part of Iona: The community feel
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The hill in front of East Hall

Joshua Hunter

Email Address: jhunter1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bridgeport, Conn.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Marketing
Favorite Part of Iona: Greek Life
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: LaPenta

Miriam John

Email Address: mjohn1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: New Rochelle, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Management; Speech Communications Studies Minor
Favorite Part of Iona: The beautiful campus
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The game room in LaPenta

Kristina Kozakevitch

Email Address: kkozakevitch1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Deer Park, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Business Undeclared (Marketing)
Favorite Part of Iona: The community like atmosphere as well as the capability to have a voice within the Collge itself.
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The hill in front of East Hall with my friends

Hannah McGowan

Email Address: hmcgowan1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Melville, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Double Major in Biology and Adolescent Education
Favorite Part of Iona: Campus Ministry and volunteering
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Honors Lounge and Spellman Dining Hall

Cathryn McLaughlin

Email Address: cathrynmclaughlin@aol.com
Hometown: Staten Island, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Psychology
Favorite Part of Iona: The small community
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Starbucks

Ryan McMonagle

Email Address: rmcmonagle1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bronx, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Mass Communication
Favorite Part of Iona: The sense of community
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Honors Lounge

Jennifer Millan

Email Address: jmillan1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bethpage, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Social Work; Spanish Minor
Favorite Part of Iona: The strong sense of community
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: LaPenta

Olivia Montas

Email Address: omontas1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bellerose, Queens, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Speech Pathology
Favorite Part of Iona: The diverse student body
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The hill in front of East Hall

Sabrina Petrillo

Email Address: spetrillo1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Staten Island, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Marketing
Favorite Part of Iona: The diversity in the community and the activities provided
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The hill in front of East Hall when it's warm out

Daniel Petrillo

Email Address: Daniels.petrillo@gmail.com
Hometown: Staten Island, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Psychology
Favorite Part of Iona: The campus community
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: LaPenta

Michael Platero

Email Address: mplatero1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Hartsdale, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Marketing
Favorite Part of Iona: Building friendships
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Spellman

Steven Quirino

Email Address: squirino1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bay Shore, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Business
Favorite Part of Iona: The men's rowing team
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: My dorm

Andrew Reivich

Email Address: areivich1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Marlboro, N.J.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Business Management
Favorite Part of Iona: Community service/Iona In Mission
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The hill in front of East Hall and Starbucks

Ali Reza-Reyes

Email Address: arezareyes1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Tewksbury, Mass.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Double Major in Economics and Computer Science
Favorite Part of Iona: The campus layout
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The Harry Potter room in Ryan Library

Alison Robles

Email Address: arobles1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Yonkers, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Mass Communication
Favorite Part of Iona: The people here, both students and teachers, are friendly and welcoming!
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Spellman Hall

Angelo Salvatico

Email Address: asalvatico1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bronx, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Accounting
Favorite Part of Iona: The welcoming community
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: LaPenta

Carrie Sapinoso

Email Address: csapinoso1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Jersey City, N.J.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Criminal Justice
Favorite Part of Iona: My favorite aspect of Iona College is that there is always a variety of activities and events I can partake in.
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Starbucks

Sarah Schumacher

Email Address: sschumacher1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Trumbull, Conn.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Marketing; Sports Entertainment and Media Business Minor
Favorite Part of Iona: Always seeing a familiar face while walking through campus!
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The library

Martin Sebastia

Email Address: msebastia1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Somers N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Finance
Favorite Part of Iona: Soccer
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Mazzella Field

Justin Simmons

Email Address: jsimmons2@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: New Windsor, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Biology/Pre-Dental
Favorite Part of Iona: We are people not numbers
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Mulachy Gym

Ravyne Slaughter

Email Address: rslaughter1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Queens, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Mass Communication
Favorite Part of Iona: The family-oriented "homey" vibe
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: LaPenta

Queury Triunfel

Email Address: qtriunfel1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Brooklyn, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Major: Mass Communication with a concentration in Broadcast Media; Computer Science Minor
Favorite Part of Iona: Everyone is either super friendly or super funny. Obviously I'm both.
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The hill in front of East Hall

Edtznah Verdejo

Email Address: everdejo1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bronx, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Marketing; International Business Minor
Favorite Part of Iona: It is a friendly and small community.
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The Commuter Lounge and Starbucks

Sabrina Vitale

Email Address: svitale1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Brooklyn, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Marketing
Favorite Part of Iona: The people
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: My dorm room

Lucas Williams

Email Address: lwilliams2@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Nanuet, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Management
Favorite Part of Iona: Community
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: The hill in front of East Hall

Kara Wilson

Email Address: kwilson5@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Brooklyn, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Resident
Major/Minor: Mathematics; French Minor
Favorite Part of Iona: The food options, soccer games, freshmen progress report and the Gael Express
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: My dorm room, LaPenta and Ryan Library

Vincent Capriola

Email Address: vcapriola1@gaels.iona.edu
Hometown: Bronx, N.Y.
Resident/Commuter: Commuter
Major/Minor: Double Major in Mass Communication with a concentration in Broadcast Media and Business Management
Favorite Part of Iona: The community  and family as a whole
Favorite Spot to Hang Out at Iona: Hynes Athletics Center