My Iona

G.A.E.L. Awards

The 16th Annual Gala for Achievement in Excellence and Leadership Awards Ceremony

April 26, 2021

Each year, the Division of Student Life hosts the Gala for Achievement in Excellence and Leadership Awards Ceremony to celebrate and acknowledge the many student leaders at Iona College. The 2021 ceremony was held on April 26 at 5:30 p.m. in the LaPenta School of Business. Students were welcomed with remarks by President Dr. Carey, Senior Vice President Kevin O’Sullivan, and Dean of Students Joel Quintong. In addition, there were several student performances by the Iona College Pipe Band, Vocal Ensemble and Instrumental Ensemble.

2021 Award Winners

  • Fraternity Man of the Year: Austin Stellato
  • Sorority Woman of the Year: Siena Clarke
  • Organization of the Year: Gamma Lambda Rho
  • Beyond the Call of Duty & Mission: Bailando Con Sazon
  • Club on the Rise: Organization of Latinx Students
  • SLAM Chair Award for Club of the Year: American Sign Language Club
  • Commitment to Intellectual Enrichment: Collegiate Entrepreneurs’ Organization
  • Commitment to Service: Model United Nations
  • Commitment to Diversity: National Student Speech and Hearing/Language Association
  • Advisor of the Year: Dr. Michelle Veyvdoa, Communication Sciences & Disorders Department
  • At Large Senator of the Year: Giancarlo Beccatini
  • Senator of the Year: Liam Geer
  • Rising Star: Allyson Renda
  • Organization of the Year – Commitment to Mission: American Sign Language Club
  • Charlie Carlson Award: Dr. Nadine Cosby, Media & Strategic Communication Department

Saint Columba Award

Ashley Blake
Lynnie Chong
Mary Conroy
Brendan Eckstein
Sophia Jacoby
Willow Lopez-Silvers
Cara Melchiorri
Laura Portocarrero

Maddie Roberti
Pat Sammon
Olivia Santos
Mariah Seebold
Christine Suciu
Julia Welti
Liz Zielinski

Peace and Justice Award

Tamia Reyes

Edmund Rice Leadership Award

Carlie Brainard
Olivia Cruz
Alycia Fitzgerald
Hailey Kourbage

Chazz Rahynes
Kate Schmitt
Christopher Tinoco
Abby Walsh

  • Outstanding Programmer: Elizabeth DeLeo
  • Unsung Heros: April Cabral and Joseph Dellabate
  • Make Iona Your Home: Claudia Marcelin
  • Commitment to Diversity: Jahari Bethea
  • Rookie Resident Assistants of the Year: Dennis Bujan and Angela Ennis
  • Resident Assistant of the Year: Courthney Liza Normil
  • Commuter Assistant of the Year: Azka Ghaffar
  • Dedication Award: Christopher Delaney
  • Spirit Award: Liam Geer and Eddie Maffia
  • Tradition Award: Olivia Santos
  • Student Advocacy Award: Jayson Fox
  • Generosity Award: Nicholle Parsons
  • Inspiration Award: Nicole Genser and Laydon Owens
  • Innovation Award: Stacey Franciamore and Merary Martinez
  • Unsung Heros: Willow Lopez-Silvers and Ciara Serpa
  • Gael of the Year: Jack Morris

Leadership Award: Maria Desir

  • Mary Elliot Rice Award: Christopher Tinoco and Alana Zayas
  • Gael Guide Extraordinaire: Sara Pallas
  • Gael Guide of the Year: Danielle Zalamea
  • Champions of Diversity: Keidy Matos, Ciara Serpa and Gabriel Zangiacomi
  • The Sullivan Award: Carlie Brainard
  • The Julia Friedman Memorial Award: Tamia Reyes
  • The Joseph E. Powell Award: Jayson Fox
  • The Mildred Squires Award: Liam Geer

Photos from the Evening

Four award winners hold their awards at the 2021 GAEL awards ceremony.
A student at a table at the 2021 GAEL awards turns and smiles at the camera.
A student in a red mask at the 2021 GAEL awards gives 2 thumbs up.
Two students at a table for the 2021 GAEL awards and one student claps.
Two female students smile for the camera at the 2021 GAEL awards ceremony.
A group of students at the 2021 GAEL awards.
Two male students in blazers at the 2021 GAEL awards ceremony.
Four GAEL awards on a table at the 2021 GAEL awards ceremony.

THE 2021 G.A.E.L. Awards Ceremony

2021 Planning Committee

Julia Romano

Julia Romano, Committee Chair
Assistant Director of Student Development

Aaron Harman

Aaron Harman
Assistant Director of Residential Life

Sara Osorio

Sara Osorio
Senior Career Development Specialist

Christine Cahill

Christine Cahill
Assistant Director of Campus Visit Experience