IONA

Eligible Holidays

Regular full-time employees are eligible for the holidays below. Regular part-time employees who work at least twenty (20) hours per week are entitled to prorated holidays.

Iona College observes the following paid holidays annually (unless they fall on a weekend): New Year's Day, Martin Luther King's Birthday, President's Day, St. Patrick's Day, Easter Holiday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans' Day, Thanksgiving Holidays, Christmas Holidays.

The approved holiday schedule to date is as follows:

Holiday

2013

Labor Day Monday, September 2
Columbus Day Monday, October 14
Veterans Day Monday, November 11
Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday - Friday, November 27 - 29
Christmas Recess Monday - Wednesday, December 23, 2013 - January 1, 2014

Holiday

2014

Martin Luther King Day Monday, January 20
Presidents Day Monday, February 17
St. Patrick's Day Monday, March 17
Easter Recess Thursday - Monday, April 17 - 21
Memorial Day Monday, May 26
Independence Day Friday, July 4

In order to receive holiday pay you must report for work on your scheduled day before and after the holiday.

When a holiday falls within an employee's vacation, the day will be re-scheduled or added to the vacation period.

If you are scheduled to work on a holiday you will usually be given an alternate day off with straight time pay within the same bi-weekly pay period. If your supervisor cannot schedule you off within the same pay period, you may elect to receive the holiday as straight time pay.