IONA

WICR (Iona College Radio)


Listen & Follow Us

USTREAM Facebook Twitter YouTube

Nick Grippo '14, Pete Consadori'14/Co-Advisor, Rob Boncardo '16, Joe Archino '16, Mike Damergis, Advisor

WICR was a finalist in four categories for the 2015 Intercollegiate Broadcasting Awards.
 

About Our Club

WICR, Iona College Radio, lives by the motto “Commitment To Excellence”. This standard is met by requiring new members to have completed or be enrolled in MCO 225- Broadcasting. By meeting this requirement, any student has the privilege to host, produce, and plan his or her own radio show. As a member of WICR you have the ability to help organize events and contribute to the growth of the station. If you have a passion for broadcasting, other opportunities present themselves throughout the year to become more involved. WICR also offers the opportunity to host and DJ events, all members will have a chance to DJ if they so choose. WICR offers DJ services to all clubs and organizations on campus.
 
WICR offers a professional platform for you to be heard on and off campus. All prospective members will have the ability to advertise themselves and their show, contribute to the well-being to WICR, and voice their opinions. Students have used and will continue to use WICR as a tool to hone their craft, and someday land a job in the industry. WICR is revolutionizing the way we see Iona College Radio.


Mission

WICR is an organization that promotes and encourages the expression of individuality through a positive outlet, while remaining consistent with the mission of Iona College. We commit ourselves to promoting tolerance and respect for ourselves and others. Membership will require an appreciation of diversity within the organization and within the Iona College community as a whole.
 
The members of WICR will achieve the aforementioned goals by embracing various forms of self-expression, through music and talk radio, while being mindful and respectful on and off the air. The members of WICR will also encourage others to be open-minded and accepting to all types of people and beliefs.


Meeting

WICR meets several times throughout the semester. Our meetings are critical to maintaining the cohesiveness of the station. We use these meetings as a platform to implement and discuss new policies, scheduling shows, and forming relationships with our members.  Due to the importance of these factors, meetings are mandatory for all members. Failure to attend meetings could result in dismissal from the club.


Events

WICR engages in a wide variety of on and off campus events and activities. Our club gives back to the community by performing community cleanups around New Rochelle. Our top priority is to serve the Iona College community. We do this by holding events, such as our acclaimed WICR Radiothon. WICR has used our Radiothon in the past to benefit great causes like Relay For Life. We will continue to use our unique platform in radio to benefit the Iona community at large.


Executive Board

Advisor
Mike Damergis
mdamergis@iona.edu







President
Joseph Archino
jarchino1@gaels.iona.edu







Vice President
Chelsea Harris
charris3@gaels.iona.edu







General Manager
Robert Boncardo
rboncardo1@gaels.iona.edu







Sports Director
Ian Sacks
isacks1@gaels.iona.edu







Social Media Director
Greg Carlson
gcarlson1@gaels.iona.edu







Station Manager
Armand Madeo
amadeo1@gaels.iona.edu







Station Manager
Ben Vazquez
bvazquez1@gaels.iona.edu







Music Director
Roberto Ayala
rayala2@gaels.iona.edu