My Iona

Faculty & Staff Awards

Faculty Awards

Faculty Awards are granted in recognition of a variety of areas including student and faculty research, integrated-service learning, service to the University, and innovation and excellence in teaching. Recipients of these awards are full-time, clinical, tenure-track and tenured faculty members.

These awards are consistent with Iona University’s strategic plan to support the great work of its faculty and each award comes with a $2,000 honorarium as part of the recognition.*

The awards are sponsored by Patrick C. Dunican, Jr., Esq., '88, and the leadership of Iona University.

All faculty, administrators, and staff are welcome to participate in the nomination process. Award recipients are announced in late April and recognized at the May Honors Convocation.

Br. Arthur A. Loftus Outstanding Student Research Award

This award is for a faculty member who is actively engaged in research and/or scholarly activity with undergraduate or graduate students.

2023 Recipient

Smiljana Petrovic, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science

2022 Recipient

Benjamin Gaines, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Mathematics

The Irene Hammerbacher Outstanding Faculty Research Award

This award is for a faculty member whose achievements in research, scholarship, or creative expression, have had a significant critical reception and are recognized nationally or internationally.

2023 Recipient

Thomas Ruggio, MFA

Associate Professor of Visual Arts

2022 Recipient

Derese Kassa, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Sociology

Br. Richard B. Power Award For Integrating Service Learning Into The Classroom

This award is for a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching that includes the integration of innovative approaches to service learning, or notable collaboration with faculty outside their department for incorporating service learning beyond the classroom.

2023 Recipient

Bret Sanner, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Management

2022 Recipient

Bret Sanner, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Management

Br. William H. Barnes Memorial Award For Service To The University

This award is for a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional contributions to the University community as shown through leadership in areas ranging from faculty governance or administrative work, mentoring of student activities, sponsorship of College events, to initiation of new service projects for students, faculty, and other members of the University community.

2023 Recipient

Charles J. Cante, Ph.D.

Professor of Business Analytics & Information Systems

2022 Recipient

Elena Procario-Foley, Ph.D.

Professor of Religious Studies

The Catherine McCabe Award For Innovation And Excellence In Teaching

This award is for a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional teaching, recognized concern for students and colleagues and sensitivity to the mission of the University, and a commitment to high standards of professional and personal life.

2023 Recipient

Jim Robinson, Ph.D.

Clinical Lecturer of Religious Studies

2022 Recipient

Ana Camara, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Management

Br. William B. Cornelia Distinguished Faculty Award

This award is for a faculty member who has achieved distinction as a teacher-scholar as documented through student- and peer-teaching evaluations; publications, invited lectures and papers, performances or shows; leadership in professional societies, work on editorial boards, membership in prestigious professional organizations; references, quotes or appearances in media; or other kinds of selective positions of leadership.

2023 Recipient

Jeffrey Alstete, Ed.D.

Professor of Management

2022 Recipient

Kurt Engemann, Ph.D.

Professor of Information Systems and Business Analytics

*The monetary awards are considered taxable compensation to the recipient in accordance with the IRS code.

Staff Awards

The Brother Timothy Bray Staff and Administrator of the Year Award

Br. Timothy Bray was a professor of mathematics who cared deeply for his community and students. Throughout his career, he counseled students on the dangers of drug and alcohol use and empowered students to live authentically and with purpose. Read more about Br. Bray’s life and work here.

Administrator of the Year

Patty Furlong
Director, Student Health Services

Staff Person of the Year

Barbara Hadad
Administrative Assistant, Student Health Services

Part-Time Staff Person of the Year

Susan DellaCagna
Administrative Assistant, Dean’s Office, School of Arts & Science

Past Recipients

  • Lewis Derenzis (2020)
  • Adrianna DiLello (2019)
  • Michele Sampson-Nelson (2018)
  • Felicia Colangelo (2017)
  • Douglas McLeer (2016)
  • Carol Ann Kenny (2015)
  • Anthony Scaccia (2014)
  • Andy Albrecht (2013)
  • Kathleen Pascuzzi (2012)
  • Br. Timothy Bray (posthumously; 2011)
  • Nick Milianta (posthumously, 2020)
  • Briana Oliverio (2019)
  • Ed Helmrich (2018)
  • Regina Barone (2017)
  • Linda Bryant (posthumously; 2016)
  • Anthony Viola (2015)
  • Victor Flores (2014)
  • Maureen Bock (2013)
  • William Gibbons (2012)
  • Teresa Alifante (2011)
  • Dana Celestino (2020)
  • Therese Mosley-Saunders (2019)
  • Bernardo Lam (2018)
  • Christine Barbero (2017)
  • Christine Cordi (2016)
  • Kathy Wiegand (2015)
  • Elaine Barone (2014)
  • Sue Romagnoli (2013)
  • Victoria Calabrese (2012)
  • Therese Saunders (2011)