My Iona

Hugh J. McCabe Memorial Award For Social Justice

Since the University’s 1979 commencement ceremonies, Iona has presented annually the Hugh McCabe Award for Social Justice to a faculty, administrator or staff member who embodies an exemplary commitment to social justice. Awardees have demonstrated through their work and contributions their exceptional dedication to social justice in building a more just and peaceful world.

Submit a Nomination

Past Recipients
Recipient Year
Timothy S. Lyle, Ph.D. 2023
Natalie Redcross, Ph.D. 2022
Susan D. Toliver, Ph.D., CFLE 2021
Jeanne Matich-Maroney, Ph.D., LCSW-R 2020
Br. Kevin Cawley 2019
Nadine Barnett Cosby 2018
Stephen M. Hill 2017
Anthony Kelso 2016
Elizabeth Olivieri-Lenahan 2015
Michele Nelson 2014
Tricia Mulligan 2013
John "Jack" Breslin 2012
Meryl Nadel 2011
Teresa Delgado  2010
Theresa Johnson 2009
Joseph W. Ford 2008
Penelope Moore 2007
Elena Procario-Foley 2006
Sr. Barbara Srozenski 2005
Catherine Mapp 2004
Br. Timothy Bray, CFC 2003
Jean Claude Lovinsky 2002
Brian Brown 2001
Ingrid Grieger 2000
J. L. Yranski Nasuti 1999
J. Kevin Devlin, CFC 1998
Frederica Rudell 1997
Carl Procario-Foley 1996
John F. Gallagher 1995
Felicia A. Leon 1994
Katherine and Ernest Menze 1993
John A. Spagnola 1991
Barbara B. Barnes 1990
Richard J. DeMaria, CFC 1989
Nancy L. Girardi 1988
Michael F. Zaremski (posthumously) 1987
Donald P. Dwyer, CFC 1986
Margret Ann O'Neill, SC 1985
Jeannette Bolduc, CND 1984
Patrick S. Moffett, CFC 1983
Kathleen P. Deignan 1982
Reverend James Poisson, OSC 1981
Gerardine J. van den Bossche 1980
Br. John M. Egan 1979

Contact Us

Office of Mission & Ministry

Robert V. LaPenta Student Union

(914) 637-2772 (914) 637-2772