Skip navigation

IONA College Logo | Go to Home Page

Loftus Dinner

Held annually during Heritage Week, the Loftus Dinner features the presentation of the Br. Arthur Austin Loftus Award to an outstanding Christian Brother. Long-serving faculty, administrators, and staff-members are also honored. Those who have worked at the College for 50 years receive the Facere et Docere Award; for 40 years, the Pro Multis Anni Award; for 30 years, the Bene Merenti Award; and for 20 years, the Pro Operis Award. The Loftus Dinner and Loftus Award are named after Br. Arthur Austin Loftus, CFC (1904 - 1979). Br. Loftus was an extraordinary teacher, leader, and Brother who served as the College's second President, Provincial of the Congregation, and Superior General of the Congregation of Christian Brothers, the first non-Irish-born Brother elected to that post.  

2018 Br. Arthur A. Loftus Award Honoree

Br. Kevin Cawley, CFC, PhD
Executive Director and one of four founding co-conveners of the Thomas Berry Forum for Ecological Dialogue

“Give to the Poor in Handfuls”
- Blessed Ignatius Edmund Rice

Kevin Cawley, CFC, Ph.D., ’69 has been a member of the Congregation of Christian Brothers for 51 years. Currently, he is the executive director and one of four founding co-conveners of the Thomas Berry Forum for Ecological Dialogue at Iona College. Brother Kevin serves at UN headquarters in New York as the main representative for Edmund Rice International, a non-governmental organization (NGO) working in 30 countries on behalf of young people and Care of the Earth. Edmund Rice International holds special consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council, and, inspired by the spirit of Edmund, is committed in particular to bringing forward a rights-based perspective where the Christian Brothers and Presentation Brothers have a ministry presence. Br. Kevin is a member of the executive board and secretary to the UN NGO Committee to Stop Trafficking in Persons, and is affiliated with the Mining Working Group, a coalition of UN NGOs which advocates for the human right to water and sanitation. Br. Kevin assists Iona College with the placement of Iona students at the United Nations Headquarters in N.Y., where they serve as temporary representatives of Edmund Rice International. He also produces a monthly newsletter on environmental concerns, The Carbon Rangers/Ecozoic Times, now in its 11th year of publication with over 600 subscribers in 25 countries. 

Br. Kevin, one of six Cawley children, attended Catholic schools in Upper Darby, Pa., and Newark, N.J., and is a 1969 graduate of Iona College. He completed his formal education with the Doctor of Philosophy in Literacy Education at Fordham University in New York. He lived briefly in Cochabamba, Bolivia, while studying Spanish, and has traveled to over 30 countries as a member of Edmund Rice International. During his educational ministry, he has served as teacher, coach and administrator at Christian Brother schools in New York, New Jersey, and Rhode Island where he was president of Bishop Hendricken HS in Warwick for five years. Br. Kevin also served at Iona College for 12 years, during which time he was a member of the Education Department, director of the Samuel Rudin Academic Resource Center, and administrator of the then-Seton campus. Later, he was appointed to serve as a member of the Christian Brothers leadership team for the Eastern American Province and subsequently as province coordinator for Justice, Peace and Integrity of Creation. 

In 2009, Br. Kevin joined the second class of GreenFaith Fellows, an interfaith coalition and training program for religious environmental leadership who work to raise environmental awareness in faith communities. More recently, Br. Kevin has presented programs on care of earth to the New York Archdiocese for Adult Faith Formation, to Catholic and Protestant parishes explaining the teaching of “Laudato Si on Care of Our Common Home,” the environmental encyclical of Pope Francis. He taught in the Columba Cornerstone program as part of the Religious Studies Department faculty at Iona and offered public programs in conjunction with the Thomas Berry Forum for Ecological Dialogue at Iona. This past summer, he presented in Assisi as part of an international program, “Spirituality and Sustainability,” that also included an audience with Pope Francis. This past January, he testified at the people’s hearing on the clean power plan sponsored by the Attorney general’s and NYC mayor’s offices. As executive director of the Berry Forum, he oversees the Committee on Environmental Sustainability as part of the College Council, the governance structure of the College.

Past Recipients of the Br. Arthur A. Loftus Award:

  • 2017: Br. Joseph Gerard Morgan, Ph.D. ’75
  • 2016: Br. Henry Dillemuth
  • 2015: Br. Eugene O’Brien, Ph.D.
  • 2014: Br. Joseph A. Cussen, '57
  • 2013: Br. Harry Dunkak, Ph.D., '51
  • 2012: Br. J. Kevin Devlin, Ed.D., '61
  • 2011: Br. James A. Liguori, Ed.D., '65
  • 2010: Br. Robert Novak, Ph.D., '72
  • 2009: Br. Kenneth Chapman, '56
  • 2008: The International Christian Brothers, accepted by Br. Alfred Banda
  • 2007: Br. Jack Mostyn
  • 2006: The Iona Community of Brothers, accepted by Br. Joseph Morgan, Ph.D., '75
  • 2005: Br. Brian Walsh
  • 2004: Br. Charles B. Quinn
  • 2003: The Bicentenary of the Congregation of Christian Brothers (1802 - 2002)