Skip navigation

Hugh J. McCabe Memorial Award For Social Justice

Since the college’s 1979 commencement ceremonies, Iona has presented annually the Hugh McCabe Award for Social Justice to a faculty, administrator or staff member who embodies an exemplary commitment to social justice. Awardees have demonstrated through their work and contributions their exceptional dedication to social justice in building a more just and peaceful world. 

See list below of past honorees.

Letter of Support: (500 word limit)
 Security code

Past Recipients

Recipient Year
Br. John M. Egan (posthumously) 1979
Reverend James Poisson, OSC 1981
Gerardine J. van den Bossche 1980
Kathleen P. Deignan 1982
Patrick S. Moffett, CFC 1983
Jeannette Bolduc, CND 1984
Margret Ann O’ Neill, SC 1985
Donald P. Dwyer, CFC 1986
Michael F. Zaremski (posthumously) 1987
Nancy L. Girardi 1988
Richard J. DeMaria, CFC 1989
Barbara B. Barnes 1990
John A. Spagnola 1991
Katherine and Ernest Menze 1993
Felicia A. Leon 1994
John F. Gallagher 1995
Carl Procario-Foley 1996
Fredrica Rudell 1997
J. Kevin Devlin, CFC 1998
J. L. Yranski Nasuti 1999
Ingrid Grieger 2000
Brian Brown 2001
Jean Claude Lovinsky 2002
Br. Timothy Bray, CFC 2003
Catherine Mapp 2004
Sr. Barbara Srozenski, SC 2005
Elena Procario-Foley 2006
Penelope Moore 2007
Joseph W. Ford 2008
Theresa Johnson 2009
Teresa Delgado 2010
Meryl Nadel 2011
John “Jack” Breslin 2012
Tricia Mulligan 2013
Michele Nelson 2014
Elizabeth Olivieri-Lenahan 2015
Anthony Kelso 2016
Stephen M. Hill 2017