My Iona

COVID-19

Information and Updates for the Iona Community on Coronavirus

Volunteer Service & Outreach

If you are looking to get involved in volunteer service or outreach, we have plenty of opportunities!

"It is from numberless diverse acts of courage and beliefs that human history is shaped. Each time one stands up for an ideal, or acts to improve the lot of others, or strikes out against injustice, he sends forth a tiny ripple of hope, and crossing each other from a million different centers of energy and daring, those ripples build a current which can sweep down the mightiest walls of oppression and resistance." – Robert F. Kennedy

Sign-Up for a Volunteer Project

Outside Service Projects

Masks are required for all of these projects.

Community Gardens and Clean-ups

Help promote sustainability and build community by working at a local garden.
Contact: Meg Sweeney at msweeney1@gaels.iona.edu or Alycia Fitzgerald at afitzgerald2@gaels.iona.edu

Fuller Center for Housing

Promote affordable housing for all by helping to construct and repair homes.
Contact: Kate Schmitt at kschmitt@gaels.iona.edu

Midnight Run

Share food, clothing and companionship with the homeless of New York City with evening van missions to the city.
Contact: Katie Feeney at kfeeney1@gaels.iona.edu or Chris Tinoco at ctinoco1@gaels.iona.edu

Online Projects

Best Buddies

Be-friend an adult who has an intellectual disability and participate in online visits with holiday themes.
Contact: Hailey Kourbage at hkourabage1@gaels.iona.edu

Cerebral Palsy of Westchester

Assist with online classes and social interactions with school-age youth who have cerebral palsy.
Contact: Abby Walsh at awalsh4@gaels.iona.edu

Iona College Online Tutoring

Provide homework help and skill development for kids (grades 1-12) through online tutoring, supervised by the Education Department.
Contact: Tamia Reyes at treyes4@gaels.iona.edu and Chazz Rahynes at crahynes@gaels.iona.edu

New Rochelle Cares

Offer friendship and online support for local seniors who have chosen to "age in place."
Contact: Escarlin Perez at eperez10@gaels.iona.edu

Nursing Home Visits

Lend a smile and cheer to residents of local nursing homes while playing bingo, trivia and other games online.
Contact: Carlie Brainard at cbrainard1@gaels.iona.edu

 

Don't see what you are looking for?

Stop by the Office of Mission and Ministry to discuss other volunteer opportunities, call (914) 637-2772 or email Carl Procario-Foley at cprocario-foley@iona.edu.

Contact Us

Office of Mission & Ministry

Robert V. LaPenta Student Union


(914) 637-2772 (914) 637-2772