My Iona

Holiday Schedule

Regular full-time employees are eligible for the holidays below. Regular part-time employees who work at least twenty (20) hours per week are entitled to prorated holidays.

Iona University observes the following paid holidays annually unless they fall on a weekend. Holidays are subject to change:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Easter Holiday
  • Memorial Day
  • Juneteenth
  • Independence Day
  • Thanksgiving Holidays
  • Christmas Holidays
2022 Holiday Schedule
Holiday Date
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 17, 2022
President’s Day Monday, February 21, 2022
St. Patrick's Day Thursday, March 17, 2022
Holy Thursday Thursday, April 14, 2022
Good Friday Friday, April 15, 2022
Easter Monday Monday, April 18, 2022
Memorial Day Monday, May 30, 2022
Juneteenth - Observed Monday, June 20, 2022
Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2022
Holiday Calendar: 2022-2023 Academic Year
Holiday Date
Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2022
Veterans Day Friday, November 11, 2022
Thanksgiving Holiday Wednesday, November 23 - Friday, November 25, 2022
Christmas & New Year Holiday Break* Thursday, December 22 - Monday, January 2, 2023
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 16, 2023
President’s Day Monday, February 20, 2023
St. Patrick’s Day Friday, March 17, 2023
Easter Holiday* Thursday, April 6, 2023 - Monday, April 10, 2023
Memorial Day Monday, May 29, 2023
Juneteenth Monday, June 19, 2023
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4, 2023

*Weekends are part of the Christmas & New Year and Easter breaks.


Employees must be at work, on paid vacation, paid personal time, or paid sick time the day before and the day after the holiday in order to be eligible for holiday pay.

When a holiday falls within an employee's vacation, the day will be paid as a holiday and not counted against your vacation.

If you are a non-exempt full-time employee or part-time employee who regularly works 20 hours per week and are scheduled to work on a holiday you will usually be given an alternate day off with straight time pay within the same bi-weekly pay period. If your supervisor cannot schedule you off within the same pay period, you may elect to receive the holiday as straight-time pay.

In order to receive holiday pay you must be regularly scheduled to work on the day of the holiday.

Holidays are subject to change.