Skip navigation

IONA College Logo | Go to Home Page

McSpedon Hall at dusk

Eligible Holidays

Regular full-time employees are eligible for the holidays below. Regular part-time employees who work at least twenty (20) hours per week are entitled to prorated holidays.

Iona College observes the following paid holidays annually (unless they fall on a weekend): New Year's Day, Martin Luther King's Birthday, Presidents Day, Easter Holiday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veterans Day, Thanksgiving Holidays and Christmas Holidays.

The approved holiday schedule to date is as follows:

2019 Holiday Schedule

Holiday

Date

New Year’s Day January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King Jr. Day January 21, 2019
President’s Day February 18, 2019
Special Holiday (for St. Patrick's) March 18, 2019
Holy Thursday April 18, 2019
Good Friday April 19, 2019
Easter Monday April 22, 2019
Memorial Day May 27, 2019
Independence Day July 4, 2019
Special Holiday – After Independence Day Friday, July 5, 2019
Labor Day Monday, September 2, 2019
Columbus Day Monday, October 14, 2019
Veterans Day Monday, November 11, 2019
Special Holiday – Before Thanksgiving Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Thanksgiving Thursday, November 28, 2019
Special Holiday – After Thanksgiving Friday, November 29, 2019
Special holiday - Christmas Break Monday, December 23, 2019
Special holiday - Christmas Break Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Special holiday - Christmas Break Thursday, December 26, 2019
Special holiday - Christmas Break Friday, December 27, 2019
Special holiday - Christmas Break Saturday, December 28, 2019
Special holiday - Christmas Break Sunday, December 29, 2019
Special holiday - Christmas Break Monday, December 30, 2019
Special holiday - Christmas Break Tuesday, December 31, 2019

2020 Holiday Schedule

Holiday Date
New Year’s Day Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 20, 2020
President’s Day Monday, February 17, 2020
St. Patrick’s Day Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Holy Thursday Thursday, April 9, 2020
Good Friday Friday, April 10, 2020
Easter Monday Monday, April 13, 2020
Memorial Day Monday, May 25, 2020
Independence Day (observed) Friday, July 3, 2020
Independence Day Saturday, July 4, 2020

In order to receive holiday pay you must report for work on your scheduled day before and after the holiday.

When a holiday falls within an employee's vacation, the day will be re-scheduled or added to the vacation period.

If you are scheduled to work on a holiday you will usually be given an alternate day off with straight time pay within the same bi-weekly pay period. If your supervisor cannot schedule you off within the same pay period, you may elect to receive the holiday as straight time pay.