Iona College Computer Science Department Holds 42nd Annual Upsilon Pi Epsilon Induction Ceremony

The Iona College Computer Science Department held its 42nd annual induction ceremony for Upsilon Pi Epsilon (UPE), the international honor society for computer and information disciplines. Membership in UPE is the highest honor that any student in the computer and information sciences can receive, in recognition of their outstanding academic achievement and professionalism. This year's inductees included undergraduate students Michael Brand ’23, Catherine DiProperzio ’23, Juan Cadile ’23, Elijah Williams ’23, graduate student, Tavis Johnson ’21, ’22MS, and Raj Korpan, Ph.D., assistant professor of computer science.

UPE is the first and only international honor society in the computing and information disciplines recognized by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society. UPE is also a member of the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS).

Newly inducted members received a certificate of membership, lapel pin, an honor cord to wear during Commencement, and a one-year complimentary membership to the ACM. Members are also eligible for various scholarships offered by UPE.

The ceremony was led by the UPE society adviser, Smiljana Petrovic, Ph.D., chair and associate professor of the Computer Science Department, as well as two UPE members, Christopher Mena ’22 and Gabriel Vargas ’22. 

Congratulations to all new members!