Skip navigation

IONA College Logo | Go to Home Page

Iona College American Sign Language Club

Iona is spelled out with four hands in the foreground signing each letter.

Mission and Purpose

The Iona College American Sign Language Club focuses on teaching American Sign Language (ASL) and bringing awareness about deaf culture to the students of Iona College. Our goal is to create an environment that allows students to acquire the skills of ASL through instruction and practice. This, combined with knowledge of the deaf and hard of hearing, will enable club members to apply American Sign Language in their own lives.

Club members stand outside by the Celtic cross at their silent picnic. Club members at our silent picnic.

Meetings and Featured Events

  • Biweekly meetings on Tuesdays during activity hour
  • Topic-based ASL lessons and activities
  • Silent Parties, Picnics, and more
  • Participation at the annual Walk-4-Hearing
  • Signing the National Anthem at sporting events
Club members gather around at their crash course. Club members at our ASL Crash Course event.

2019-2020 Executive Board Members


President: Nicole Genser ’21  (ngenser1@gaels.iona.edu)
Vice President of Membership: Julie Stohr ’21  (jstohr1@gaels.iona.edu)
Vice President of Instruction: Briana Gibaldi ’20  (bgibaldi1@gaels.iona.edu)
Secretary: Alyssa Pammer ’20  (apammer1@gaels.iona.edu)
Treasurer: KaraBrann Williams ’21  (kwilliams16@gaels.iona.edu)
Outreach Chair: Caroline Doherty ’21  (cdoherty1@gaels.iona.edu)

Contact

For more information, contact Nicole Genser (ngenser1@gaels.iona.edu) or any executive board member. Alternatively, you may contact our faculty advisor Dr. Michelle Veyvoda (mveyvoda@iona.edu) or the Office of Student Development (studentactivities@iona.edu).

Social Media: Instagram - @icaslclub