Skip navigation
student laughing

Iona College Speech and Hearing Club

Logo - Speech and hearing club Iona's Chapter of NSSLHA

Mission

As a NSSLHA Chapter, we wish to inspire, empower, and support you in the field of CSD while providing the tools to navigate your academic career and prepare you for your professional one. Iona College’s Speech and Hearing Club encourages professional interest among students in the study of Speech Pathology and enables them to proceed in the field with confidence.

What is NSSLHA?

Logo - National NSSLHA

The National Student Speech Language Hearing Association (NSSLHA) is the only national student organization for pre-professionals studying communication sciences and disorders (CSD) recognized by ASHA. Established in 1972, NSSLHA supports over 13,400 members and more than 300 chapters at colleges and universities nationwide (including Iona College).

Meetings - Fall 2018

We might at noon in Spellman 106A on the following Thursdays:

  • September 13
  • September 20
  • October 11
  • October 25
  • November 8
Club members and Professors pose in their Iona shirts and sweaters in Central Park for the Walk 4 Hearing event. Club members and Professors at the annual Walk 4 Hearing in New York City.

 

Executive Board: 

Katie Beyer

Katie Beyer

President

kbeyer1@gaels.iona.edu 
Shannon Elmes

Shannon Elmes

Vice President for Correspondence

selmes1@gaels.iona.edu
Becca Falcon

Becca Falcon

Secretary

rfalcon1@gaels.iona.edu
Patricia Ferrante

Patricia Ferrante

Treasurer

pferrante1@gaels.iona.edu
Chloe Kelleher

Chloe Kelleher

NSSLHA Representative

ckelleher1@gaels.iona.edu
Allison Lopez

Allison Lopez

Public Relations

alopez15@gaels.iona.edu

Committees

Club members pose with a practicing Speech Language Pathologist. Club members learning about the swallowing basics from a practicing Speech Language Pathologist

Events

  • Walk 4 Hearing
  • Operation Smile
  • GRE Crash Course and Tips
  • "Swallowing Basics" with
  • Strides for Speech

Awards

For a second year in a row, we were awarded the NSSLHA Gold Chapter Honors

NSSLHA 2018 chapter honors gold.

Contact

Contact Katie Beyer for more information at kbeyer1@gaels.iona.edu.