Skip navigation

IONA College Logo | Go to Home Page

IES Governance and Guidance

The Sister Kathleen Deignan, CND Institute for Earth and Spirit at Iona oversees the direction of the collaborative itemized above in dialogue with three respective “Guiding Councils” that will share the creative and practical work of The Institute.

The Invited Members of Each Guiding Council

The Iona Spirituality Center Guiding Council

  • Kathleen Deignan, CND, Director (Professor of Religious and Environmental Studies, Ph.D. in Historical Theology, M.A. in History of Christian Spirituality, author on classical and contemporary spirituality)
  • Christina M. Carlson, Ph.D. (Department of English; Medievalist; Board and Graduate of The Guild for Spiritual Guidance)
  • Rachana Rao Umashankar, Ph.D. (Department of Religious Studies; Scholar of Islam with specialization in Sufism)
  • Marie Pace, Administrator with Dean of Arts and Science
  • Rev. Peggy Clark, MA (Minister UU; Master of History of Christian Spirituality; UU Environmental Minister, Iona Alumna)
  • Diana Marin, MA (BA Romance Languages and Literature, Harvard College; MA Theology, Alt*Div; Candidate for a Masters of Divinity, Harvard Divinity School)
  • Laura Klauberg, MBA, Formerly SVP Brand & Community, lululemon and SVP Global Media, Unilever
  • Michael Horan '77, Ph.D. (Professor of Religious Education and Pastoral Theology and Graduate Program Director, Loyola Marymount University, LA.)
  • Alumn Student: Ceire Kealty, Ph.D. Candidate in Theology at Villanova University
  • Current Student: TBA

The Thomas Berry Forum for Ecological Dialogue Guiding Council

  • Brother Kevin Cawley, CFC, Ph.D., Founding Convener and Executive Director (Ph.D. Literacy Education,  UN Representative for NGO Edmund Rice International, Editor of Carbon Rangers  environmental newsletter;  GreenFaith Fellow ‘09)
  • Brian Brown, Ph.D., Founding Convener (Berry Scholar and author, Sacred Cosmology, Native American Land Jurisprudence, Professor Emeritus Department of Religious Studies at Iona)
  • Kathleen Deignan, CND, Ph.D., Founding Convener (Berry Scholar and author, Professor of Religious Studies and Environmental Studies at Iona, GreenFaith Fellow ’08)
  • Daniel Martin, Ph.D., Founding Convener (Berry Scholar and Associate, Dialogue for Life Facilitator, creator of UN Environmental Sabbath Program)
  • Kimberly Spanjol, Ph.D., BCBA-D, LMHC (Professor of Criminal Justice, species justice, mindfulness teacher and therapist)
  • Jaculyn Hanrahan, CND (Minister of Justice, Peace and Creation Care for Blessed Sacrament Province of the Congregation of Notre Dame; MA in Theology from University of Notre Dame; JD University of Virginia; Founding Director of Appalachian Faith and Ecology Center, Inc., Southwest Virginia)
  • Iona Alumnus Jamal Kareem Jackson, JDL (Environmental Attorney, Iona Alumnus, Environmental Studies Minor)
  • Current Student TBA

The Thomas Merton Contemplative Initiative at Iona Guiding Council

  • Kathleen Deignan, CND, (Professor of Religious Studies, Ph.D. in Historical Theology, MA in History of Christian Spirituality, Merton scholar and author, President Emerita of the International Thomas Merton Society)
  • Anthony J. Iodice, MLS of Iona College Libraries
  • Paul O’Connell, Ph.D. (Department of Criminal Justice, Graduate of the Guild for Spiritual Guidance, Anam Cara Minister, Merton devotee)
  • Daniel Potoki, MA (Iona Theology/RST Major and Alumnus, Merton Daggy Scholar, MA in Civil Theology, Havard U)
  • Kimberly Potoki, MA (Iona Communication Arts Major, Iona MA Communication Arts, Merton Daggy Scholar)
  • Ceire Kealty, BA (Iona Theology/RST Major and Alumna, Villanova Ph.D. Theology student, Merton Daggy Scholar)
  • Ashley Hubayka, BA (Iona Theology/RST and International Studies Major and Alumna, MA in Teaching, Notre Dame, MD, MA in Theological Studies, Loyola, MD, Merton Daggy Scholar)
  • Joseph Madonna (Iona Theology/RST Major and Alumni, Fordham University MA in Medieval Studies Ph.D., Merton Daggy Scholar)
  • Present Student