Men's Club Lacrosse

The Iona University Men's Club Lacrosse team is a member of the National College Lacrosse League. In its first year (2021-22), the team finished the season with a record of 3-5.

Spring 2024 Schedule

All home games will be played on the Bronxville Campus.

February 24, 3 p.m.
Away vs Stony Brook  

February 25, 1 p.m.
Home vs CCNY

March 3, 1 p.m.
Home vs NYU
Home vs Stevens Tech

March 22, 7 p.m.
Away vs Marist

April 7, 1 p.m.
Away vs Sacred Heart

April 14, 1 p.m.
Home vs CCNY

April 21, 12 p.m.
Away vs New Haven

1Anwar AbirouDefense
2Michael EmilianoAttack
3William McNeelyDefense
4Niall ZamanMidfield
5Nick BelluccioAttack
6Andrew BaldocedaMidfield/FO
8Garrett HiglerMidfield
9Gianni FrangoDefense
10Daniel BrownAttack
11Vito LoprestiGoalie
13Nicholas ArcuriDefense
15Will MarchiniAttack/Midfield
18Dahir GalebMidfield
19Jeremiah VidalDefense
20Christian ArmstrongMidfield
21Robert ParisiDefense
22Carson BrownAttack/Midfield
23Joseph SamarnehMidfield
25Kern FlandersMidfield
30Alessio CampioneMidfield
32Evan SimsMidfield
33Nicolas ZarraMidfield
44John StivalaMidfield
45Mikey MontielMidfield
69Liam WarrenMidfield
 John RobbinsAttack

Head Coach

Tyler Danzi


Tyler Danzi was named the Coordinator of Recreation and Intramurals in the summer of 2023. Tyler was Iona University’s first Club Lacrosse Head Coach. The team was founded in the fall of 2021 and competes in the National College Lacrosse League. Most recently, he served as the Eastchester Varsity Boy’s Lacrosse Head Coach. He currently serves as a part-time consultant coach for Horace Mann High School, holding the title of Associate Varsity Head Coach. His previous stops and positions include Ardsley High School Varsity Boy’s Lacrosse Associate Head Coach, Riverdale Country Day Boy's Varsity Lacrosse Assistant Coach and Mount Saint Michael Boy's Varsity Lacrosse Assistant Coach. He served as one of the Iona Summer Camp Directors for several years including the development of the Boy’s Lacrosse Summer Camp. Tyler played Division II and Club Lacrosse during his college career. Tyler obtained his Master of Arts in Teaching in Physical Education and Sports Pedagogy from Manhattanville College and a Bachelors or Arts and Sciences from the University at Albany. Tyler is a New York State Certified Physical Education Teacher having worked in various districts in Westchester County.

Volunteer Assistant Coach

Steve Magarelli

Steve Magarelli was named the men’s club volleyball coach in the spring of 2024. Steve is currently a volunteer assistant coach for the club lacrosse team and has been a part of the staff since 2021. Steve is a certified Physical Education Teacher at Pelham Memorial High School and Modified Football and Basketball Coach. He has coached volleyball, lacrosse, basketball, field hockey and football. He has also served as the Boy’s Varsity Head Lacrosse Coach for James O’Neil High School, Hastings High School and Pelham Memorial High School. He also served one year as the JV Head Coach for Ardsley High School.

Volunteer Assistant Coach

Rocco Rubeo

Rocco Rubeo was commissioned as an officer in the United States Marine Corps. He retired at the rank of Major in 2019. Rocco is currently on the Iona Women’s Lacrosse Staff serving as Assistant Coach.

Volunteer Assistant Coach

Jack Ruscetta


Jack Ruscetta is a graduate of Iona University and a former Iona club lacrosse player. Jack was a member of the inaugural season and earned team MVP during his senior season. He is currently the Iona University Undergraduate Admissions Counselor. His territories include Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont.

Volunteer Assistant Coach

Tim McDermott

Tim McDermott is a graduate of Iona University and a former college lacrosse player. Prior to his time at Iona, he was the Varsity Head Lacrosse Coach at Mount Saint Michael Academy and Junior Varsity Head Coach at Riverdale Country Day.

  • 2023 Record: 1-1 (Fall) 
  • 2023 Record: 2-1 (Spring)
  • 2022 Record: 3-5 (Spring)

Instagram: @ionaclublacrosse

Twitter: @ionaclublax

Gaels who have played NCAA Lacrosse:

  • Matt Newman NCAA III
  • Aedan Kearns NCAA II

Gaels who have played International Lacrosse:

  • John Stivala, Rome City
The 2024 Men's club lacrosse team.
The 2023-24 men's club lacrosse team.
The 2023 Iona men's club team in uniform.
The four 2023 captains of the Iona men's club lacrosse team.
The Iona men's lacrosse club team pose on a field on a sunny day.
Player number 8 from the Lacrosse team points at the camera.
The Iona men's lacrosse club team huddle on field with their coach during a game.
Player number 1 from the Lacrosse team faces the camera.
The Iona men's lacrosse club team pose on the field after a game.
Player number 8 from the Lacrosse team catches a ball.
The Iona men's lacrosse club team on the field before the start of a game.
The Iona men's lacrosse club team after a practice at a stadium field.
Player number 1 from the Lacrosse team faces away from the camera.