Iona College President Dr. Seamus Carey Named to CICU Executive Committee

In board role, Carey continues to advocate for independent colleges across New York


New Rochelle, N.Y. – Iona College President Seamus Carey, Ph.D., has been appointed to serve on the Executive Committee of the Commission on Independent Colleges & Universities (CICU) Board of Trustees. The board voted to approve new appointments on April 28, 2022.

“It is an honor to join the CICU Executive Committee on behalf of both Iona College and all the independent campuses that the CICU represents,” said Carey, who has served on the CICU Board of Trustees since February 2020. “Together, our voices are stronger as we advocate for important policy changes.”

Founded in 1956 by a small group of private, not-for-profit college and university presidents, the CICU now represents more than 100 independent campuses across New York State. Its mission is to develop consensus among a diverse membership and advance higher education public policy. CICU President Lola W. Brabham periodically calls upon the Executive Committee to weigh in on issues affecting the membership and to help establish CICU positions on legislative issues.

The 2022-23 Executive Committee includes:

  • Elizabeth Bradley, Vassar College, Nominating Committee Chair
  • Seamus Carey, Iona College
  • Lorrie Clemo, D’Youville College, Secretary
  • Sharon DeVivo, Vaughn College of Aeronautics & Technology
  • David Harris, Union College, Vice Chair
  • Joyce Jacobsen, Hobart & William Smith Colleges, Audit Chair
  • Alan Kadish, Touro University
  • David Munson, Rochester Institute of Technology, Chair
  • Joanne Passaro, Metropolitan College of New York, Treasurer
  • Laura Sparks, Cooper Union, Vice Chair

Founded in 1940, Iona University is a master's-granting private, Catholic, coeducational institution of learning in the tradition of the Edmund Rice Christian Brothers. Iona's 45-acre New Rochelle campus and 28-acre Bronxville campus are just 20 miles north of Midtown Manhattan. With a total enrollment of nearly 4,000 students and an alumni base of over 50,000 around the world, Iona is a diverse community of learners and scholars dedicated to academic excellence and the values of justice, peace and service. Iona is highly accredited, offering undergraduate degrees in liberal arts, science, and business administration, as well as Master of Arts, Master of Science and Master of Business Administration degrees and numerous advanced certificate programs. Iona’s LaPenta School of Business is accredited by AACSB International, a prestigious recognition awarded to just five percent of business schools worldwide. The Princeton Review recognized Iona’s on-campus MBA program as a “Best Business School for 2021.” Iona University also recently launched a new, fully online MBA program for even greater flexibility. In July 2021, Iona University and NewYork-Presbyterian announced the establishment of the NewYork-Presbyterian Iona School of Health Sciences, to be principally located on the University’s new campus in Bronxville, N.Y. Supported by a $20 million gift from NewYork-Presbyterian, the NewYork-Presbyterian Iona School of Health Sciences offers a new vision for collaborative health care education, modern workforce development, and community care. On July 1, 2022, Iona officially changed its status from College to University, reflecting the growth of its academic programs and the prestige of an Iona education.